Deify The Mind

Don’t Mess With The Mind

The Guilty Passion July 4, 2006

Filed under: My Philosophy — Master Cheif @ 12:27 pm

Science, anyone who has read even one post of mine will know that science is my life. It is my passion, the reason I live. However, I feel that soon this passion, my life and everything in it will come to crashing halt. For those of you who don’t know, I am now in the eleventh grade. Let me tell you it’s horrible but I didn’t write this post to complain.

Fact is, that as we get older, we have less and less time to devote to our passions. Even so, I believe that, at the fundamental level, science is almost as useless as history or civics. In fact, even history can contribute to a country’s growth. Science is merely a guilty pleasure, something scientists divulge in, to fulfill their own curiosities.

Fundamentally, science is pretty useless. Who cares why the earth revolves around the sun ? Or why the concept of dark matter is useful (except that it sounds cool) ? In a modern society, science, especially physics and cosmology have no purpose. Soon, when politicians realize that it is indeed so, we will see the end of science as we know it.

Luckily, there are still the few, who are rich and will be able to invest in their own experiments but with the more and more complex experiments, even they too will shy away from such an extravagant expense. Most countries will dump the excess funds to economic research because lets face it that IS the right way to go.

For many science haters this is a blessing, but unfortunately, it will do more harm than good. Science is like an art. It needs to mature through the ages and only people with the right eye (or brain) can discern what it depicts. I hope that even if my chance for success in science is a failure, there still be an opportunity to carry the torch which has been passed down from the dawn of time.

 

0 Responses to “The Guilty Passion”

  1. hi
    ive added u to my blogroll


Leave a Reply

