Deify The Mind

Don’t Mess With The Mind

Running Away October 22, 2006

Filed under: Advice,My Philosophy — Master Cheif @ 12:44 pm

“It’s only when you have seen death can you truly understand life”

One of my favorite quotes, from the book Frankenstein. In the beginning, this quote didn’t mean much more to me than the fact that it was completely fictitious and had no bearing in real life. After all, who among us can actually experience death and live to tell the tale. However, as I grew older I realized that there was much more meaning in those words than I had previously thought.

As far as I am concerned, these words do explain much of life to me. In order to know what is good, you have to know what is bad. This is a whole and complete fact. I cannot know what to believe, unless I experience everything. Prejudice is the enemy of knowledge. Something which is akin to a flame burning down a beautiful city.

I would’ve never known that fighting or violence is a bad thing unless I was a “bad ass” myself. Not that I condone such actions, I am trying to make a point. I would’ve have never known that being good, or atleast trying to be good, is the most important thing for a human. Although people may disagree, I don’t care.

In order to find the perfect partner, friend or mate, we devote our whole lives, when, according to me there is only one criteria. All I want is to know a person who has experienced all the evil, hatred and the complete darkness in this world and yet has decided to be good, wholeheartedly. All else is irrelevant. Saying so, I have narrowed down the results to a bare minimum but does it matter? As long as such people exist, we will see this world grow.

 

Leave a Reply

